XXXVIII Annual Meeting of the Willi Hennig Society

Sunday, May 26th – Friday, May 31st, 2019

University of California at Berkeley

The meeting was held at Clark Kerr Campus of the University of California Berkeley in association with the Berkeley Natural History Museums (University and Jepson Herbaria, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology, Essig Museum of Entomology, Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology, University of California Botanical Garden, University of California Museum of Paleontology). It was organized by Brent Mishler, Kip Will, and Sonia Nosratinia.



  • Phylogenetic Approaches in Microbiome Research
    lead organizers: Aman Gill, post-doc; Allan Cabrero, grad student, University of California Berkeley
  • Phylogenetics, Ecology, and Conservation Biology
    lead organizers: Matt Kling and Prahlada Papper, grad students, Rob Skelton, post-doc, University of California Berkeley
  • Phylogenomic Analysis
    lead organizer: Alexander Knyshov, post-doc, University of California Riverside
  • Phylogenetics and Evolution in the Fossil Record
    lead organizer: Camilla Alves Souto, post-doc, and Daniel Varajão de Latorre, grad student, University of California Berkeley
  • Character analysis in Phylogenetics
    lead organzier: Torben Göpel, grad student, Universität Rostock

Student Awards

Hennig Award (best oral presentation)
  • Ana Andruchow-Colombo (Argentina)
Brundin Award (2nd best oral presentation)
  • Leshon Lee (Singapore)
Rosen Award (best poster presentation)
  • Iris Menendez (Spain)

Student Presentation winners Leshon, Iris, and Ana (left to right).

Student Travel Awards
  • Ambrosio Torres (Argentina)
  • Fabio Oliveira (Brazil)
  • Torben Göpel (Germany)
  • Iris Menendez (Spain)
  • Leshon Lee (Singapore)
  • Adrián Villastrigo (Spain)
  • Darren Yeo (Singapore)
  • Heloisa Flores (Brazil)
  • Jairo Moreno-Gonzaléz (Brazil)
  • Gabriel Freitas (Brazil)
  • Caroline Parins-Fukuchi (USA)
  • Hector Tejero (USA)

Student Travel Award recipients with President Claudia Szumik (left).